|The parish of Louroux-de-Beaune of romance
period was transformed at several occasions during the gothic
period. This parish of Bourges depended on the abbey of the Cherise Dieu
before janing the collation priory of Rongères. The first writings go back to
During the 13the century a first chapel was added in the angle formed
by the transept and the chorus, the piles of crossing are altered and at
the 15th century a second ajonction was built on the North Side.
Important inside restorations were made in 1959. Paintings and colors were removed to
regive this monument its
original aspect. All this delicate work was realised by men of the
country. The success was total, Louroux-de-Beaune's inhabitants were proud of their church of Sulpice Saint.
On October 11th, 1963 the building was registered at the historical
The roof of the building was replaced in 1972.
The bell-towerwas rebuilt in 1991.
The cover of the church is remade in 1992 and the sacristy's cover in
The last priest of the parish was the abbot Astier, well-known under the
name of "Priest of Colombier" dead in January 1996.
Since 1986 a great mass is given every year last Sunday of August.
In the 21th century, the Sunday strollers can visit this
beautiful church and its picturesque borough.